top of page
Writer's pictureAlan Scott

Casually Clixin with Casual Clixin

What good is a name if you don't practice what you preach? The Suicide Squad, Avengers, Thunderbolts, just to name a few, were some of the teams that saw the battlefield this Casual Clixin weekend. I got to try out 2 of the recent teams that I featured last week (Arkham Asylum & X-Men). These types of play sessions are the perfect opportunity to snap some pictures, have some fun, and most importantly check how good my team builds are.



I'm Not Crazy But My Psychiatrist Seems To Disagree

I'll start with the team I was more impressed with. The Arkham Asylum team played exactly how I imagined it would. The Joker's Mastermind ran rampant across the battlefield. Two-Face is just as good as he seems. Edward Nigma makes for a great utility character as he's able to switch from supporting the team to attacking and causing mayhem. I was a bit worried about going up against the Stealth-busting Avengers Initiative teams, but The Joker's Killing Joke special power proved deadly and Nygma's Mind Control helped keep troublesome Hawkeye and Black Widow away. I wouldn't change anything from this team.


Family Matters

The X-Men team didn't fair so well against Deathstroke and his Outwit. The Indomitable on Black Manta and Deathstroke kept the pressure on the X-Men and quickly chased down Quicksilver after he had done some damage to Merlyn. Once Quicksilver fell I did my best to keep my distance and rely on Enhancement to deal extra damage, but some bad luck on my part with dice rolls wasn't helping my situation. This team desperately needs some sort of Perplex or Outwit to combat certain strategies/powers. To be fair, I did make this team with a lot of restrictions as I wanted to keep it a family affair. Which meant I was only looking at Scarlet Witch, Polaris, and Quicksilver figures to round out my team.


Parting Is Such Sweet Sorrow

Wrapping up the play sessions I am glad I was able to see so many teams and characters in action. I've been curious to try out some of the new rules and powers, so being able to create many situations where power interactions had to be looked at deeply was a great learning experience for everyone. We were all able to shake some of the rust off and get the Heroclix hamster wheel in motion. I look forward to having another gaming session in the near future and as always keep you updated with Casual Clixin's latest adventures.

15 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page